skip to primary navigation skip to content

Jean Giles-Sims Wise Woman Award

The Jean Giles-Sims Wise Woman Award is presented to the faculty member who best exemplifies the principles of Women and Gender Studies and helps to further the interests of women at TCU. The award recognizes faculty contributions both inside and outside of the classroom. Any faculty member who teaches a WGST-attribute course during the current academic year is eligible to be nominated for the award, however, award recipients from previous years are not eligible for subsequent nominations.

Procedure: The WGST Awards Committee solicits nominations for the award in Spring semesters. Any student enrolled in a WGST class (undergraduate or graduate) in summer, fall, or spring semesters of a given academic year may nominate a candidate. Once all nominations are in, a survey will be sent out to all students in the WGST program to vote for a winner based on the nominating statements of the students in their classes. The winner is announced at the annual Garden Party.

Current Winner

2017-18: Rima Abunasser

Dr. Abunasser is an Instructor in the English Department. She has taught WGST’s 20003 course Introduction to Women and Gender Studies, the 40003 Advanced Seminar, and regularly teaches English classes, such as Global Women’s Literature, that contribute to the WGST curriculum.

Click Here for information about Dr. Abunasser’s Wise Woman Pedagogy Workshop.

“Dr. Abunasser not only encourages her students to be aware of the issues outside of our
western perspective. But she does this by teaching about equality and justice, making her
students a little more ethical and decent everyday. Global women’s lit should be a required
TCU course if we want to create the leaders of tomorrow.”


Previous Winners

2016-17Jacqueline Lambiase

2015-16: Hanan Hammad

2014-15: Layne Craig

2013-14: Ariane Balizet & Carrie Leverenz

2012-13: Elizabeth Flowers

2011-12: Rebecca Sharpless

2010-11: Lisa Vanderlinden

2009-10: Theresa Gaul

2008-09: Bonnie Blackwell

2007-08: Karen Steele